ROTD: Deviled Eggs

20140517-114140.jpg

I don’t know about you but once Easter rolls around I become obsessed with making and eating deviled eggs. A few weeks ago I posted on Facebook asking how everyone made theirs and the result was the traditional way. Some with relish, some without.

I feel like deviled eggs are like potato salad, everyone likes it a certain way. And like potato salad you’re either all in with a variety of ingredients or you think less is more.

I personally like my potato salad neat and my deviled eggs dirty. Well any eggs actually. I can’t stand the texture of eggs so I prefer them “smothered, covered, and chunked”, as if Waffle House was making them like their hasbrowns.

As much as I can’t stand the texture of eggs I sure love popping a couple deviled eggs in my mouth as a quick addition to breakfast for added protein. Or as a side for lunch with my salad. And since most recipes are relatively Paloe friendly they make a great snack. I’ve been trying to keep them on hand for that reason alone. I’m a snacker and a grazer.

Today I thought I’d give Egglands Best preboiled eggs a try for their convince. Sadly I was left disappointed. They were too small, but if you’re in a hurry they’re perfect. I wasn’t thrilled about their price either so I think I’ll just stick w buying bigger eggs and boiling them myself. (Still working on finding the easiest peeling technique. My best friend is in culinary school, I’ll pick his brain and give you an update.)

I generally get my recipes from online but as I said in a previous post I’d like to really explore my two favorite cookbooks. Today’s recipe comes from Pirates Pantry, you can purchase a copy here and follow along w me if you like.

20140517-105716.jpg

Deviled Eggs

  • 12 hard boiled eggs, peeled and sliced lengthwise (I have a “fancy” garnishing tool that I like to use)
  • 1/2 stick margarine, melted
  • 1/4 cup mayonaise
  • 1 tbs prepared mustard
  • 1tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp each pepper, celery salt, and horseradish
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire
  • 5 drops Tabasco

Scoop out egg yolks and mash. In a large saucepan stir onion and mashed yolks in margarine over low heat for a few minutes. Remove from heat, add remaining ingredients, and mix thoroughly. Spoon into halved egg whites, sprinkle with paprika and top with olive slices or capers. Chill thoroughly before serving.

Kajun Kween says: Since I generally eat with my eyes first, I like taking the extra time to fill an icing back with a large star tip with the filling and filling the eggs that way. Joe isn’t keen to olives so we to add green onions to everything, and I do mean everything! Pictured below is the “fancy” garnishing tool I mentioned.

20140517-115319.jpg

Recipe Credit: Pirates Pantry: Treasured Recipes of South Louisiana, Pelican Publishing Company, 2003 printing.

Leave a Reply

