Blogging Challenge: Day 1

 

 

 

 

Image

Well, here we go, day one of the 30 Day Blogging Challenge. A photo of myself and a description of how my day went.

Photo above was taken on my wedding day, April 9, 2011. Heck yes I wore red heels and my hair turned into a stringy hot mess before I even walked down the isle. Welcome to Texas, y’all!

My day today started off like any other, Beau, coffee, and Sesame Street. In that exact order. You see, every morning Beau will lie helplessly in his bed calling for Joe or I to come get him. Beau is 2 and recently graduated from crib to toddler bed so he’s totally capable of getting out of his bed anytime he wants. (Ironically, he has the strength to heave himself out of bed at 3am for some late night giggles and ‘nuggles.) After letting him lay there for mere nano seconds, eternity in his world, I go get him and his first words are “toast?”. Toast has been his food of choice for the last month and a half. Yes, the song “Bread and Butter” by the Newbeats automatically queues up in my head as I make my way to our LSU toaster. No jam or jelly though, just butter. And “BAPES!!!!” (or “RAPES” if he’s really got a hankerin!) You know them as grapes. I cut his toast into “tangles” (triangles) and we enjoy repeat episodes of Sesame Street until I’ve finished my coffee.

About mid morning Beau knows I like to head out to the garden to check for bugs and general progress. He knows its time when I grab my flip flops and he’ll starts screaming “OUTSIDE! OUTSIDE!! OUTSIIIIIDE!!!”, he will usually bring me a pair of his shoes as well.  We make our way outside, enjoying the cool of the morning, and the annoying barking between Krewe and the neighbors dogs. Sorry Neighbor Julie. I cringe every single time because I know you’re probably just getting into a deep sleep after working that night. I took this picture today as well.

20140514-234243.jpg

 

Before we know it, it’s time for lunch or if I’m lucky, a mid morning nap… that sometimes last until mid afternoon! Again, if I’m lucky! I usually try to cram in as much housework as I can during Beau’s naps, which usually is just dishes, floors, and maybe a load or two of laundry. And then there are days where I’m like “Screw it, I’m taking a nap too!” Look, I’m not going to lie to you, I’m no Donna Reed of my house. Its obvious we live here. Homes are made to be lived in right? And while we’re on the subject of immaculate homes, I’m not a Pinterest Mom either. She’s about as real as the 50’s Housewife ideal. I do love that ideal though, but its just that, an ideal. I don’t know how (or why) Pinterest Moms do it but more power to ya sister. While you’re organizing your upcycled pallet projects and making homemade party decorations out of the paper you made from the trees you harvested out of your own front yard, I’ll be tossing back my 5th cup of coffee and eating cold pizza while my kid rubs sand and mud into his hair. Or taking a glorious nap.

After Beau wakes up, its round two of party time with the little man. Colors, tent making, more “bapes”, or a trip to the farmers market. Then promptly at 3pm, Monday thru Friday, the alarm on my phone goes off, reminding me that it’s time to start dinner.

Yes ladies and gents, I have an alarm set on my phone for 3pm to let me know it’s time to get dinner ready. Joe usually gets off between 4:30 and 5 and I can just about bet that he didn’t eat lunch because he was stuck in cases all day (he’s an RN incase you didn’t know). This is where my ideal 50’s Housewife comes into play. Usually when he’s walking through the door I’m putting the finishing touches on dinner and we both greet each other warmly. It’s exactly how you would picture a 50s sitcom played out. Father walks through the door, child runs towards him with arms stretched out. Mother is in the kitchen with a grin from ear to ear while holding something delicious in her perfectly manicured hands and father kisses her gently, and she asks “How was your day, dear?”

We eat, we play, then Beau goes to bed. The tv immediately switches from Sesame Street to one of the following “The Walking Dead”, “Justified”, “Dexter”, or “Mike and Molly”. Joe and I park it on the couch until about 10:30/11 then call it a night.

So that’s generally what a typical day looks like for me, except today ended differently. You see, my mom will be retiring from teaching this year and with that thought I started thinking about her career as a whole, and all the kids she’s met along the way. Back when she lived in Louisiana there were a few that really touched her, and my dads, heart. So today I decided to see if I could find some of those kids as kind of like a “What Are They Doing Now” thing. I was able to find a couple on Facebook and I put them in contact with my mom. Let’s just say both sides were so excited to be reconnected! I can’t even describe how awesome it was to kind of surprise my mom with the news that I found her “kids”. I’m looking forward to hearing about the updates.

Well that’s it for day one of the challenge, looking forward to the next 29 posts! Be sure to subscribe to my blogs or find me on Facebook, Twitter, even Instagram @thekajunkween! Oh yeah, Pinterest too!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Blogging Challenge: Day 1

Leave a Reply

