New Years Resolutions… too early to start thinking about it?

I don’t even know if I fully subscribe to the idea of having/making New Years Resolutions. Simply because I almost never follow through with them and end up just being a blob of self disappointment. I certainly don’t subscribe to the fitness “I want to be a skinny Minnie again” resolutions. I love food way to much. But here’s what I do subscribe to: Being a better version of myself than I was the previous year. To me thats totally do able and more realistic. Specially since we’re already in the “looking back so we can look forward” frame of mind come Jan 1.

Don’t get me wrong, I’d love to shed some of this Cajun Holiday goodness that I’ve packed on in the last couple of weeks, but if I don’t, no biggie. As long as I’m not needing a forklift to get out of bed I think I’m ok… and as long as Joe is still attracted to me and not greasin down the doorways and tossing a Popeye’s buttermilk biscuit into the hallway just so I’ll go get the mail!

But these last 2 days I’ve really been thinking about how I could be a better version of myself, Jen 2.0 (more like 32.9) and I found this pin on Pinterest that really got my gears going. (Why I am I finding all my Godly Goodies on Pinterest! Its a blessing and a curse I tell ya!) I found a post, or a post was “randomly suggested to me by Pinterest” about being a Proverbs 31 wife. Granted the post took me to a Christian blog talk about Christian/Married sex, it still motivated me. (And maybe the sex part too… Calm down Mom, I can talk about it, I’m married! It happens!) You still with me? Or did you just go off into la-la land because I said sex?! LOL Well bring it back down cause I’m not talking sex, at least not today! I’m talking about how amazing the Proverbs 31 wife is and how she is ABOVE the 50’s housewife! I mean you all know how much I adore the 50’s Housewife and how I think there is no other job I’d rather have, but the Proverbs 31 Wife is even better! Its like if the 50’s Housewife had a  New Years Resolution this would be it! Thats how awesome she is!

“What’s the Proverbs 31 Wife Jen? Tell us! Tell us!”
Ok I will! Hold your hat!

I’m actually embarrassed to admit that I had NEVER in my life heard of her. (Shame shame know my name! Boooo! Hisssssss!) I don’t know how I made it through all those years in the Baptist youth and never heard of her. Well world, or my few readers, let me introduce you to her.

 

Proverbs 31:10-31

The Message (MSG)

Hymn to a Good Wife

10-31 A good woman is hard to find,
    and worth far more than diamonds.
Her husband trusts her without reserve,
    and never has reason to regret it.
Never spiteful, she treats him generously
    all her life long.
She shops around for the best yarns and cottons,
    and enjoys knitting and sewing.
She’s like a trading ship that sails to faraway places
    and brings back exotic surprises.
She’s up before dawn, preparing breakfast
    for her family and organizing her day.
She looks over a field and buys it,
    then, with money she’s put aside, plants a garden.
First thing in the morning, she dresses for work,
    rolls up her sleeves, eager to get started.
She senses the worth of her work,
    is in no hurry to call it quits for the day.
She’s skilled in the crafts of home and hearth,
    diligent in homemaking.
She’s quick to assist anyone in need,
    reaches out to help the poor.
She doesn’t worry about her family when it snows;
    their winter clothes are all mended and ready to wear.
She makes her own clothing,
    and dresses in colorful linens and silks.
Her husband is greatly respected
    when he deliberates with the city fathers.
She designs gowns and sells them,
    brings the sweaters she knits to the dress shops.
Her clothes are well-made and elegant,
    and she always faces tomorrow with a smile.
When she speaks she has something worthwhile to say,
    and she always says it kindly.
She keeps an eye on everyone in her household,
    and keeps them all busy and productive.
Her children respect and bless her;
    her husband joins in with words of praise:
“Many women have done wonderful things,
    but you’ve outclassed them all!”
Charm can mislead and beauty soon fades.
    The woman to be admired and praised
    is the woman who lives in the Fear-of-God.
Give her everything she deserves!
    Festoon her life with praises!

Image

 

Holy Moly! I’m impressed! Joe claims that I’m already living my life this way, and while I agree, I also feel I still need more “training”.  I know there are some very literal similarities I see already happening within myself but can also see where I need to improve. Man I wish I could just go out and buy the property Joe and I dream about and go home and say “Hey guess what I did today?! I found our dream property and BOUGHT IT!” But that’s not possible if you don’t have the money, and it would be kind of hard to conceal a loan application and all that paperwork. And while I’m not “like a trading ship” sailing around for “exotic surprises”, I do try my best to find the best deal on everything and love a good thrift shop shopping spree! As far as “exotic surprises” I like to pick up a few 6-packs of St. Arnold’s root beer for him when the grocery store has it in stock! 

I am interested in making my own clothing, and that is defiantly on my NYR list! Don’t know if it will ever be good enough to sell to make a profit, or if I will even have that kind of time, but I would like to learn to sew.

“When she speaks she has something worthwhile to say, and she always says it kindly.” You’re reading this blog aren’t you!? Just kidding! I do get calls for advice sometimes and sometimes I’m not so kind with it! I probably need to work on that. I gotta find the perfect balance of being honest but saying it kindly! 

“she always faces tomorrow with a smile.” I would say I do most of the time. I’m certainly better about it, and more aware of making a conscious decision to greet the sun with a smile than I ever have been. This took some brain training! I can recall literally telling myself “You can either stay mad, have your funky moment or you can get over it now and move on. How do you want to spend your time and energy feeling?!”

“is in no hurry to call it quits for the day.” Can’t say that I do this. I suck at this. Epic fail! Everyday! And I hate that about me! There’s still housework to be done but when Joe walks in the door from work, I stop and drop everything til the next day. Its frustrating! Because the house is sometimes still a mess but I just want to spend the rest of the evening relaxing on the couch with my little family! I mean seriously, what sounds better to you? A pile of dishes or some ultimate cuddle time with your love and little one? I think instead of “working longer hours” I need to work on better time management and “work smarter not harder”. This is a real struggle for me!

Another one I suck at is “She’s quick to assist anyone in need, reaches out to help the poor.” This also kind of ties into the previous one, my time management sucks! And when you have a 1.5yr old running around it complicates things even more. Then again there are some moms out there who (seem to) have it together. Well, I’m not them, and they aren’t me! And I don’t even try to set my standards to theirs. God blessed them accordingly so that they could achieve their achievements and I’m still working on mine. Maybe one day I’ll be on their level, but right now, I’m just not there yet. And I’m (partly) okay with that! My sister is super organized and a planner and thats awesome! But I’m not her, and that too is AWESOME! I love that she’s a planner, I’ve learned a lot from her, and I love that I find a great deal of peace knowing that she’s a planner. Will I ever get to her level? Who knows, I’m just asking God to help me get through this day a better person than I was yesterday!

So there you have it, my somewhat New Years Resolutions for 2014. I’m curious as to what others have been thinking about for their resolutions. Or are you like me and just want to do your best to have a better year?

Image

Leave a Reply

