Tasty Tuesday: Smothered Tasso and Pork Chops

Just updated my blog with new photos… as promised like 7yrs ago! Sorry it took me so long!

The Kajun Kween

Smothered Pork Chops and Tasso, homemade mashed garlic-parmesan New Potatoes, Rosemary Fried Okra, and Garlic and "something something" Compound Butter (by Martha Stewart) on roasted corn.

Smothered Pork Chops and Tasso, homemade mashed garlic-parmesan New Potatoes, Rosemary Fried Okra, and Garlic and “something something” Compound Butter (by Martha Stewart) on roasted corn.

 

Can I just start off by saying this is THE most popular meal at our house! I’d say almost once a week we eat this! Something smothered in a gravy, at least.

What is tasso you ask? “Tasso ham is a specialty of south Louisiana cuisine. It is a spicy, peppery version of smoked pork made from the shoulder butt. In this case, “ham” is a misnomer, since tasso is not made from the hind leg of a pig.” Wikipedia (Yes, I just copied and paste the definition because I don’t think I could properly explain it to Louisiana outsiders. I had heard of it but never had it until I married Joe, and I’m pretty sure I agreed to cook…

View original post 936 more words

Leave a Reply

