“Life’s a garden so dig it!” ~ Joe Dirt… and now maybe Jen Dirt!

Welcome to The Back 40 Update: With Lots Of Pictures

This is box #2 of my garden. Cow Peas on the left... Hulk-like Basil on the right. And some tiny green beans cowering down in between like some little sissy's!

This is box #2 of my garden. Cow Peas on the left… Hulk-like Basil on the right. And some tiny green beans cowering down in between like some little sissy’s!

I realized I haven’t posted in a while about what’s been growin’s on in my garden. Not that there’s some mega exciting news or anything, just felt like sharing. Because that’s caring!

So I’ve discovered that less really is more. Specially when it comes to growing things in my garden. The less I fool with it, the more it produces. I’m not sure why that is, I’m pretty sure thats normal and what I’m supposed to be doing anyway. So I’m a little less obsessive about it. I still go out there to poke and peek around just to make sure I’m not getting robbed. And I am, but I’ll get to that in a bit.

Ok so above you see a picture of box #2 with my cowpeas (black eyes), basil and some green beans somewhere in there. I also threw some carrot seeds in there all willy-nilly, have no idea how those are doing. This pic is a few months old and the basil was just a wee lass at this time. It has since grown into a fine strapping young man… or the Paul Bunyan of basil… Krewe is his Babe!

Basil can be so overbearing! Gosh! It needs to go to Sensitivity Training or something!

Basil can be so overbearing! Gosh! It needs to go to Sensitivity Training or something!

As you can see, its grown to almost the top of the trellis. I measured it at one point but I don’t know what happened to that pic. Oh well, you get the point. So I will be making pesto for the next 60 years (rolling eyes) if anybody wants some! Just kidding everyone (not kidding, self).

Moving on…. Lets take a gander at my lettuce, its so pretty and let me just add that NONE of these pictures have been subjected (subject? I don’t which is grammatically correct, nor do I care, so take your pick!) to any kind of photo editing filter or fancy-uper. These were taken about 20 minutes ago in crappy weather! Ok what was I talking about, ah yes, the lettuce! Those little turkeys have finally started to actually grow into something more than rabbit food! I am about to pick them because I’ve got some new lettuce seeds waiting to be planted and I’m just itching to get my nails dirty!

Lettuce enjoy this cute little tuft of leafy greens!

Lettuce enjoy these cute little tufts of leafy greens!

Lettuce eat and be merry!

Lettuce eat and be merry!

Up next, my HERbs… make sure you annunciate the ‘HER’ in herbs. Just kidding, don’t, its annoying!

Parsley, oregano, and rosemary.

Parsley, oregano, and rosemary.

Mint! Mint! and More Mint!

Mint! Mint! and More Mint!

(Why are the greens in these pics so intense? Oh cause I’m INTENSE… about my garden! Hell yeah I am! I’m totally ’bout it ’bout it too! Was that too street for you? I’ll try and town it down.. keep it on the DL!)

I'm not sure what's going on with the bottom of it. And please excuse the rat poop. They're baaaaaaaack!

I’m not sure what’s going on with the bottom of it. And please excuse the rat poop. They’re baaaaaaaack!

I don't remember what this was. Joe's aunt gave it to me and she said it was a climber so I thought I'd pretty up this ugly section of the fence with it. For now anyway.

I don’t remember what this was. Joe’s aunt gave it to me and she said it was a climber so I thought I’d pretty up this ugly section of the fence with it. For now anyway.

These are the herb boxes Joe built for me a few months back.

These are the herb boxes Joe built for me a few months back.

We eat these on EVERYTHING! And these just some left over onion bottoms from Froberg's Farmers Market in Alvin. So I just go clip what I need for that day and let them be.

We eat these on EVERYTHING! And these are just some left over onion bottoms from Froberg’s Farmers Market in Alvin. So I just go clip what I need for that day and let them be.

Peppers! Peppers! Who wants peppers? Apparently I have quite the peck to pick! And for some reason most of them are growing all cattywhompus? (Spell checkers, how’d I do?)

Joe's favorite plant in the whole garden! He loves getting daily updates on this little guy!

Joe’s favorite plant in the whole garden! He loves getting daily updates on this little guy!

WTH?!

WTH?!

pepperpalooza

pepperpalooza

Jalapeno Peppers

Jalapeno Peppers

Green, red and yellow bell peppers. Love these things!

Green, red and yellow bell peppers. Love these things!

Now lets talk about the A-holes who won’t leave my garden alone! Yep, there’s always something jackin’ it all up for me! Right now its hornworm caterpillars and some kind of super rude bug. But before the rude bug was a nice bug that I still didn’t like having in my garden but I tolerated him because he killed all the other bugs. But he’s gone now or he’s grown into the super rude bug. Either way, I hate them all!

Yeah, I hate you with all my guts! I thoroughly enjoyed whacking you with my shoe today! I hope all your friends saw because I'll be back! Oh! I'll be back!

Yeah, I hate you with all my guts! I thoroughly enjoyed whacking you with my shoe today! I hope all your friends saw because I’ll be back! Oh! I’ll be back!

The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly all rolled into one bug. These bugs are supposed to be good for your garden because they eat the other bugs. BUUUUT! They also pack a pretty gnarly bite, or so I'm told. And I think he's the younger version of the bug above, or at least a close cousin.

The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly all rolled into one bug. These bugs are supposed to be good for your garden because they eat the other bugs. BUUUUT! They also pack a pretty gnarly bite, or so I’m told. And I think he’s the younger version of the bug above, or at least a close cousin.

these b@st@rds will destroy your tomato pant in one day! This fool was huge so no telling what kind of damage he did. He went to meet his maker shortly after this picture was taken.

these b@st@rds will destroy your tomato pant in one day! This fool was huge so no telling what kind of damage he did. He went to meet his maker shortly after this picture was taken.

 (As one friend put it “You know you’re a stylist when….!” When you use your cutting comb as a measuring tool for things other than hair!)

Hopefully I’ll be “choppin’ broccoli” pretty soon! (Insert appropriate Dana Carvey SNL audition skit)

IMG_1178

Geeze would you hurry up already!

Geeze would you hurry up already!

And lastly, my Heniz Tomato plant. I got a late start on planting this one so I may not ever see any blooms. Then again between the leaf-footed bug and the hornworm caterpillar it may not even having a fighting chance. You can kind of see all the leave the caterpillar ate. Oh well, welcome to gardening!

IMG_1167 tomato1

(I don’t know why the greens are totally different, the pic was taken on the same day, at the same time)

Here’s a couple before pics.

Well lookie here! I found the pic I was talking about earlier!

Well lookie here! I found the pic I was talking about earlier!

black eyed peas

black eyed peas

First edible harvest!

First edible harvest!

2nd harvest!

2nd harvest!

BEFORE! You can see I had corn at one point but pulled it out because another kind of caterpillar got a hold of it and destroyed every single cob.

BEFORE! You can see I had corn at one point but pulled it out because another kind of caterpillar got a hold of it and destroyed every single cob.

Start of the lettuce.

Start of the lettuce.

And finally a cute kiddo helping momma in the garden in his jammies!

Beau Lightyear

Beau Lightyear

 

Notes: I’ve joined a gardening Facebook group that has really helped me learn and GROW with my garden! If you’re in Texas you should check them out “Texas Gardening Group“. Its local people helping each other identify different bugs and sharing tips! Super nice and knowledgeable folks!

Leave a Reply

