A Pirates Life For Me: Shrimp Sauce Piquante

Today I had a hankerin’ for shrimp so I decided to make some Shrimp Sauce Piquante. I’ve only made this a handful of times and every time I make it I ask myself “Why haven’t you made this more often!? Its awesome!!” And its not like its a hard, complicated dish to make. In fact, its incredibly easy and doesn’t take long to make.

Lets get started shall we?!

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 cup onions, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup salad (veg) oil or bacon drippings
  • 1 cup of water
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 cup celery, finely chopped
  • 1 can (16 oz) whole tomatoes
  • 1 can (8 oz) tomato sauce
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp each red and black pepper
  • 2 pounds raw shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 3 thin slices lemon, quartered
  • 1/4 cup each, parsley and green onion tops, finely chopped

20130810-122901.jpg

As you can see my ingredients varied slightly from the above list. Simply because I used what I had. Instead of tomato paste, I used tomato soup. Instead of celery, I used bell pepper. (We prefer bell pepper over celery anyway) Instead of whole tomatoes, I used diced. And I did use bacon drippings/grease, however I don’t think I used as much as the recipe called for and it still came out just fine. If you don’t mind a slight smoke flavor with your shrimp, use the bacon drippings, otherwise, the vegetable oil works great and really allows the other flavors to come through.

20130810-122928.jpg

Here’s the bacon grease, onions, and some of my green onions decided they just couldn’t wait til the end and dove right in. It happens.

20130810-122951.jpg

Ahhhh my secret ingredient! I add just a half to a whole cap full of this crab boil to any of my seafood dishes. It gives it a little extra heat, incredible flavor, and conjures up some good memories of past crawfish boils (because that’s what goes in the boiling water for crawfish boils… ours anyway). Don’t add too much of this though, I’m telling you a little goes a long way!

20130810-123008.jpg

Added the water, tomatoes, bell peppers and tomato soup. Cooked it down for about 30-40 mins… probably longer because I was busy Facebooking I’m sure.

20130810-123019.jpg

Lastly add the shrimp and (remaining) green onions. Cook til shrimp have turned pink and started to curl. Don’t want to over cook the shrimp, they’ll dry out and get gritty. Gross!

20130810-123037.jpg

Serve over hot rice… and a big fat slice of buttered french bread. I didn’t do that because, well I didn’t have any… but I pretended… in my head!

Recap of the “How to”:
In a heavy iron pot, saute onions in heated oil or drippings until light brown. Add water, garlic, and celery, cover, and cook until tender. Add tomatoes, tomato sauce, salt, and pepper and simmer, uncovered 30-40 minutes until slightly thickened. Add shrimp and lemon slices, cover, and cook slowly 15 mins. Just before serving, add parsley and green onion tops. Serve on hot rice. Serves 6

Variation: This recipe is equally as good a shrimp soup. Modify by adding 1 can (6 oz) tomato paste, more water, salt, and pepper. Serve in soup bowls with hot rice.

Credits: Mrs William E Trimble “Pirate’s Pantry Treasured Recipes of Southwest Louisiana
The Junior League of Lake Charles, Inc

One thought on “A Pirates Life For Me: Shrimp Sauce Piquante

Leave a Reply

